UPC | SJSU‎ > ‎


For more information on the SJSU Master of Urban and Regional Planning program, please visit the department's website.

Professor Ralph Mclaughlin (Faculty Adviser) 
Ralph B. McLaughlin is Assistant Professor in the Department of Urban and Regional Planning at San José State University, and Director of the Institute for Metropolitan Studies. Prior to joining SJSU, Ralph was Lecturer at the University of South Australia (UniSA) in Urban and Regional Planning, and currently holds an affiliation as Adjunct Research Associate with UniSA. He completed his Ph.D. at the University of California, Irvine in 2009 with his dissertation entitled, “Land Use Regulations and Housing Supply: Impacts on Local, State, and U.S. Markets.”

During his tenure at UCI, Ralph was twice a finalist for the Tiebout Prize in Regional Science for his dissertation work. Additionally, he acted as Assistant Editor of the Journal of Regional Science and served as graduate representative for the University of California Physical and Environmental Committee. Prior to his tenure at UCI, Ralph earned a B.S. in Regional Development and a minor in Urban Planning from the University of Arizona where he was awarded the Klafter Memorial Scholarship for Excellence in Real Estate Studies.

He has worked on numerous projects evaluating the effectiveness of Land Use Regulations and Growth Management Regimes in both an intra and inter-regional scale. Ralph regularly presents his work at Academic conferences around the globe, and is an active member in the Australia New Zealand Regional Science Association (ANZRSAI), the Western Regional Science Association, the Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning, and the North American Regional Science Council. He was awarded the  2011 Springer Prize in Regional Science and the ANZRSAI 2010 Best Conference Paper by an Early Career Researcher.

Ralph currently sits on the editorial board of the Australasian Journal of Regional Studies.

Professor Rick Kos
Professor Shishir Mathur
Professor Hilary Nixon
Professor Asha Weinstein-Agrawal